Skip to content Where Legends Are Made
Alabama Transportation Institute Connect Follow Us

USDOT University Transportation Centers (UTC) Awards Announced

February 23, 2023

We are delighted to announce that The Alabama Transportation Institute at The University of Alabama is part of TWO of the recently announced U.S. Department of Transportation University Transportation Centers (UTC). A big thank you to Dr. Steven Jones who led the ATI effort on these proposals! These are highly competitive five-year awards totaling $35M.

$20M National Center for Transportation Cybersecurity and Resiliency. We look forward to working with the lead institution, Clemson University and appreciate Dr. Mizanur Rahman for making this possible for ATI.

Consortium Members:
Benedict College
Florida International University
Morgan State University
Purdue University
South Carolina State University
The University of Alabama
University of California at Santa Cruz
The University of Texas at Dallas

$15M Region 4 UTC: University Transportation Center for Regional and Rural Connected Communities. ATI will support the lead institution, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, by administering the Technology Transfer component of the UTC.

Consortia Members:
Clemson University
Florida Atlantic University
The University of Alabama
The University of Georgia
University of Kentucky
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

UTCs are internationally recognized for their capacity to lead, innovate, and educate. Each UTC is a consortium of colleges and universities that come together to form a unique center of transportation excellence on a specific research topic. Together, they advance U.S. technology and expertise in the many disciplines comprising transportation through education, solutions-oriented research and technology transfer, and the exploration and sharing of cutting-edge ideas and approaches.

, ,